Robert B Parker Phd Dissertation

Robert B Parker Phd Dissertation-78
Spenser still remains a smart aleck who shows his dislike for stupidity.He also is intelligent, educated, a gourmet cook and a mean man with his fists.

Spenser is a wisecracking guy in the firm tradition of the Chandler shamus, and above and beyond this all the conversations in the books are splendidly swift and sharp.

Parker likes to refer to the minutiae of current American life or to that store of trivial memories that any 40-year-old American has, and this gives his pages a liveliness and an up-to-dateness which is decidedly refreshing. Parker has written five books starring Spenser, the tough Boston operator, a one-man army.

Parker's crime fiction places him as a prominent contemporary author within the hard-boiled tradition of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and Ross Macdonald.

His best known works form a series consisting of nine novels, beginning with The Godwulf Manuscript (1973), and featuring Spenser, a tough but compassionate private-eye trained not only in espionage but also in gourmet cooking, physical fitness, and literature.

He is called in to investigate the theft of a 14th-century illuminated manuscript from a college library.

Robert B Parker Phd Dissertation Homework Help Online Go.Hrw.Com

Along the way he runs into student activists, the mob, drugs, sex and the usual package.

" The detective is less interesting, however, than his antagonist, a small, weak, lecherous professor of medieval literature who early in the story is revealed to be also a radical, dope pusher, and murderer.

This paragon is married to a huge, adoring woman who mothers him and eventually takes five bullets in the stomach so the little man can escape. Spenser finds him cowering in the bathtub where he has wet himself in terror.

49-52 and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series, Vol.

1.) In the tradition of Hammett, Chandler and the other private-eye creators of the 1930's comes "The Godwulf Manuscript" by Robert B. Parker's locale is Boston, and his private-eye—a tough, wise-cracking, unafraid, lonely, unexpectedly literate type—is in many respects the very exemplar of the species.

SHOW COMMENTS

Comments Robert B Parker Phd Dissertation

The Latest from truba174.ru ©